Testimonials

The following testimonials were written by just some of my happy sellers and buyers. They have all been kind enough to give me permission to show you their correspondence. Their letters and words are very gratifying. It seems that my down-to-earth and honest approach has earned me many friends - I think that's fantastic!

1229 Adams Road - July 2017

We cannot speak highly enough of our recent experience of buying our Bowen Island home through Barry Thomas. He was professional, dependable, and patient. Always making himself available to meet, provide information and answer questions and panicked calls. Barry's relaxed, cheerful nature and unfailing support when things got tense towards the closing date was invaluable. We would recommend his services to anyone who wants buying a new house to be an enjoyable experience. 

-Scott James & Christina O'Dell

1650 Evergreen Lane - May 2017

"Barry has sold 2 separate houses for me while I have lived on Bowen. He has always demonstrated a highly professional, thoughtful and research-based approach combined with a personable and friendly touch. I have a great deal of confidence in him and have appreciated his quick communication and willingness to go above and beyond in terms of professional services - big and small.

I would recommend him highly as a Realtor."

~ Wynn Nielsen

1179 Fairweather Lane - January 2017

"Recently, my husband and I hired Barry Thomas to list our home on beautiful Bowen Island.  Our experience with Barry was professional and positive in many ways.  From providing a drone within a week of listing; expertly and creatively displaying our home on the MLS site, to communicating with us almost daily.  He was an energetic listener and was very attentive to the description, staging and the exact terms of listing our home. Barry Thomas's work ethic impressed us and we highly recommend him for Realtor services on Bowen."

~ Wendy Bower & Gordon Campbell


955 Harbour View - November 2016

"From the first time I saw Barry's Living Bowen material in my mail I was impressed by his marketing and thought he may be my Realtor of choice if I decided to sell.
A follow up meeting with Barry confirmed my instinct and when I decided to list my property in August 2016, my choice of realtor had already been made.

Barry was very proactive in his marketing style, generating interest and awareness of my property off island as well as locally, and creating a stream of prospective buyers resulting in a successful offer within six weeks. Throughout the process he kept me in touch and informed.

Without hesitation I would recommend Barry."

~ Joanne

734 Windjammer - November 2016

"After numerous recommendations and careful research we choose Barry Thomas as our Realtor on Bowen Island. As first time home owners we needed a Realtor who was patient, knowledgeable, thoughtful and responsive. From the first time we met Barry, until the day he gave us the keys to our new house, he proved to be all of those things and more.

Barry was quick to answer any questions we had, he understood the needs of our family and he always had our best interests in mind. Not only is Barry a very skilled Realtor, he is a very kind person.

We are so glad we choose Barry as our Realtor and highly recommend him."

 

~ Jill & Michael 

941 Spyglass Road - August 2016

"Thank you Barry! Barry’s experience and patience in selling our home served us well. Although we recognized a very ambitious individual, we never felt any pressure from him.  He was readily available and always eager to help even before we listed. Once listed, we felt Barry gave us his full 100%. Not only, is he a true professional, he is a genuinely caring individual who keeps his client's needs in mind. I highly recommend Barry for anyone considering selling or buying! You will not be disappointed."

~ Vickie & Dave

976 Village Drive - June 2016

"We would without question engage Barry Thomas again as our realtor. After an agonizing decision to leave Bowen after almost 9 years, we turned to Barry to help us make the sale process as easy as possible, without compromising our financial investment. He met our needs in every aspect - he knows the local market very well, listens to his clients, and is always professional. He also put in the effort to market our home with a stunning video and pics. The end result was a quick sale at full asking price.  The entire process could not have gone better for us." 

~ Glen & Dominic

1538 White Sails Drive - June 2016

"Several friends on Bowen Island recommended Barry to me when I decided to sell both my house on Bowen and my cottage on Gambier Island. Selling my cottage posed some unique challenges in that there is no hydro at that location and the only access is via boat or float plane. No other realtor was interested in listing my cottage; however, Barry accepted the challenge and sold it within three months for a price that was fair to both the buyers and to me.
More recently, he listed my house on Bowen Island and it sold in only a few days for more than the asking price.
Barry is meticulous, knowledgeable, and very easy to work with. I appreciate his positive attitude, sense of humour, attention to detail, honesty, and the care he takes to explain contracts. He is absolutely professional in everything he does. I highly recommend him."

~ Sharon P.

503 Crag's End - March 2016

"When I decided to sell my home on Bowen Island, I asked a friend who had recently sold their house for a recommendation of realtor, as he was so pleased with the realtor he had used.  He said, “You HAVE to use Barry! He is the Rock Star of realtors.” Why look further with a recommendation like that!  I am over the moon about how quickly Barry sold my house, and the service he provided.  The house sold in one week for over the asking price. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.  Barry is very positive, easy to work with, highly responsive, and very professional.  If you are selling a home, or looking to buy, look no further.  Barry is the BEST!! He is definitely a Rock Star in my book."

~ Cathy C.

227 David Road - December 2015

“We listed our waterfront home with Barry Thomas in the summer of 2015, and it sold in a few months. Our experience with Barry made letting go and moving on very pleasant and safe. His presentation of our house from drone photos accompanied by music was so beautiful that we cried when we saw it, and it brought just the right buyer to our home. I recommend Barry to anyone buying or selling a home because he is impeccably honest, a smart game player, and just plain fun to spend time with.”

~ Gerry and Barbara Clow

1631 Amelia Lane - November 2015

"Choosing to sell our home on Bowen was not one we made lightly. Largely dictated by changing life and work circumstances, it was in fact quite a difficult decision to make. But once made, our initial angst was eased substantially by working with Barry Thomas. From his initial assessment of our property, to his impressive marketing materials and strategy, to the final ‘sold’ sign going up, he was nothing less than professional, incredibly savvy and accurate with his predictions, and absolutely supportive, understanding and responsive to our every question and concern. His optimism and enthusiasm were contagious and helped buoy us up, and were definitely not without grounds as we sold for higher than asking price in a matter of days. The entire process was as quick and as painless as any selling of a home could possibly be. It is without reservation that we recommend him to anyone considering selling or buying a home on Bowen Island."

~ Shannon & Howard 

252 Jason Road - November 2015

"Barry went above and beyond to make our home buying a great experience! My husband and I had already been looking for a larger home in a great family neighborhood for almost 2 years when I came across one of Barry’s stunning property photographs. Until then, I had never heard of Bowen Island. After checking his beautiful Living Bowen website and all the great information that he provides about the community on Bowen and the island life style, I was sold! Bowen Island was the perfect place to raise my kids and let them build great childhood memories.  We met Barry on our first visit to Bowen and noticed he was very knowledgeable about Real Estate, the types of construction on Bowen, the neighbourhoods, and most importantly, he was very honest about the pros and cons of all the properties. Barry took all of our needs and wants into consideration and was very patient with our long search for the perfect place. We felt no pressure to take any home, even when we decided to walk away from an accepted offer. He always answered all our questions quickly and was willing to look for more information or refer professionals for a second opinion so we could take well informed decisions along the way.  With a great positive personality, he even made house buying fun at times! Now that the search is over and we are already living in our new “forever” home, we are sure this house is the perfect house for us. We would definitely recommend his services to anyone and everyone. Thanks Barry for all your support and for helping us to find our dream home!"

Angelica & Chris 

835 Captains Way - June 2015

"We met Barry when looking for a place on Bowen that we could escape our busy lives to. We weren't even sure what we wanted when we me him. We would call him to look at a place that peaked our interest and he would always be willing to get us in right away to see it. We are so thankful about how positive and patient he was. It took us a year until we stumbled upon exactly what we were looking for. He ensured we got there immediately to look at it, before it really even had an open house. It was because of him that we now have a piece of paradise."
~ Tina & John 

967 Windjammer Road - May 2015

"My west side cottage sold in less than two weeks after I listed it with Barry Thomas. As a quintessential Bowen house with character, and my first home, it was important to me that a realtor appreciate the intrinsic beauty and lovely spirit of the place in addition to the basic listing details. Barry captured those special qualities beautifully in the photographs and especially in the video. The business side was clear and organized with excellent communication and a friendly and amiable personal touch. Thank you, Barry!"

~ Wynn

1281 Park Road - May 2015

"Barry helped us find our Bowen home.  He was amazing from start to finish!  It took us a year to find something we loved in our price range and he never made us feel as though we were taking up too much of his time.  He responded very quickly to all inquiries from us and was always happy to obtain background info on the homes in which we had a special interest.  He was patient as we looked through homes, never hovered but somehow was always right there when we had a question.  Once we found “the one”, he guided us through the offer and purchase arranging all inspections in the tight time frames. He gave us contacts for every trade and professional we needed to consult and has provided great guidance through the entire process.  He is the ultimate agent and has our unreserved recommendation."

~ Joan & Rodger

987 Seaview Place - March 2015

"When we first contacted Barry, we were very emotionally attached to our home and the island and not really sure if we were ready to sell our home.  Barry was sensitive to our needs and did not apply any undue pressure.  He was generous with his time and his professional opinions... I was impressed by his personal integrity and his enthusiastic commitment to the island.  He truly believes in the value of “island life”.  In the end, he presented us with an offer and a perfect family to settle in our well-loved home.  The experience we had with Barry made what could have been a very painful experience into an exciting new chapter of our lives."

~ Steve & Samantha


1276 Oceanview Road - March 2015

"Working with Barry Thomas to sell our Bowen house was a true pleasure. Yes, we read the testimonials on the Living Bowen website and had also received positive recommendations from friends, but ultimately the proof is in the pudding. 

The selling process not only met our needs, it exceeded our most hopeful expectations regarding asking price, marketing quality, and speed of sale.  Barry quickly became a trustworthy ally in both the business and aesthetics of selling our home, and his positive attitude was infectious. We also felt that Living Bowen’s attention to the context and spirit of our house (not just the metrics) was especially effective in making a speedy connection with the right buyers. We recommend Barry without hesitation."

 

~ Beth and Patrick Hawkes

1755 Emily Lane - December 2014

"Choosing Barry to list and sell my home was a very wise decision indeed. He is intuitive, intelligent, kind, knowledgeable, professional and confident in his abilities. And Barry truly listens. He supported and advised me every step of the way. I cannot thank him enough for finding the perfect buyers for my home."

~ Lucy

379 Creek Road - October 2014

"This being the fifth house that we have sold on Bowen Island, we found Barry's approach a breath of fresh air. The marketing of our home was first class. The video and photos presented very well. We had 50 showings from May to November. That accomplishment speaks for itself, also demonstrating Barry's enthusiasm, commitment and plain hard work.

As far as we are concerned, Barry Thomas is the best and only agent to sell a home on Bowen Island.

Thank you Barry!"


~ Gary & Martha Ferguson 

1749 Emily Lane - September 2014

"When you think innovation, creativity, unrelenting energy, professionalism and integrity… think Barry Thomas. Barry is transparent, honest, tenacious and unrelentingly optimistic, yet pragmatic – all qualities that we value. Notably, our house was a much loved home with many people attachments and Barry understood that; in addition to being intelligent, he has a big heart. We thank you Barry for exceeding our expectations. You are awesome."


~ Vicki & Terry

1253 Eagle's Nest Road - June 2014

"I find it hard to believe that there is a realtor out there that could out do Barry Thomas. From the beginning I didn't feel like it was a sales pitch. I felt like he was looking out for our best interests. Barry went above and beyond any realtor that we had met to market our house for sale. I recommend him 100%. He was the sole reason we got our house sold. Barry's marketing strategy was above and beyond anything we had ever seen."

~ Krista & Brent

538 Hilltop Place - April 2014

"Barry Thomas provided outstanding advice, service and expert knowledge of the Bowen Island real estate market as he worked on selling our home.  From the initial discussions about price and marketing of the property, Barry performed with extraordinary skill in delivering the best print and media exposure possible. We were delighted with Barry’s positive approach, his integrity and his  sense of humor which kept us focused.  We shall be forever grateful for Barry's outstanding energy, business acumen and enthusiasm.

We highly recommend Barry without any reservations."

 ~ Elisabeth & Thijs Dhont

1641 Adams Road - February 2014

"In the somewhat laid back real estate climate of Bowen Island, where sellers have become accustomed to having a "For Sale" sign up for prolonged stretches of time, it has been a refreshing experience to work with Barry Thomas.

Barry is enthusiastic about Bowen and it's real estate possibilities. He puts his time honed background in corporate marketing, specifically contract negotiation, to good use.

We found his recommendation with regard to pricing accurate, realistic and ultimately pivotal. Not only was he consistently caring and gracious, we soon learned that he was enthusiastic, creative and quick to assess new situations. In fact his clarity in understanding our wishes as well as those of prospective buyers afforded him a degree of measured flexibility.

Most of all however, his total and sustained conviction that our former property [his listing] would sell quickly and efficiently [within the price bracket we had agreed upon] led him to act in complete accordance with these expectations. In fact we got the distinct impression that Barry may have been a tad taken by surprise that it took him all of three weeks to complete the sale.

There may be one flaw which comes to mind about Barry if indeed it is one, and that is that he tends to err on the side of optimism. As a hurdle however, it hasn't seemed so slow him down.

Thanks to Barry's regular updates, we felt included, and cared for throughout the process. His offer of putting a percentage of his commission towards a local charity of our choice, has left us feeling that he cares about this island and the community of which he is fast becoming an integral part."

~ Patricia & David

Barry Thomas

Mobile: 604-803-0012

Office: 604-947-9738

bt@livingbowen.com

  looking at buying
  home
  My
  Living Bowen